WLNI-SRICHMOND, Va. (AP) _ More drivers in Virginia have been ticketed for passing too close to cyclists since a state law went into effect last year. The law increased the minimum passing distance from 2 feet to 3 feet. The Richmond Times-Dispatch says Supreme Court of Virginia data show police statewide wrote 12 tickets during the law’s first 12 months on the books. That’s up from two tickets during the previous 12 months. The law went into effect July 1, 2014. Lloyd “Bud” Vye with the Virginia Bicycling Federation says he has noticed an improvement. He says he hopes another law that went into effect last week will continue the improvement. That law allows drivers to cross the double yellow line while passing.