4 P.M. burning law in effect February 15

Virginia Department of ForestryVirginia’s 4 p.m. Burning Law goes into effect Feb. 15, 2016 – the start of spring fire season in the Commonwealth.  This law prohibits burning before 4 p.m. each day (Feb. 15 – April 30) if the fire is in, or within 300 feet of, woodland, brushland or fields containing dry grass or other flammable materials. A violation of this law is a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by up to a $500 fine.  In addition to the criminal violation, those who allow a fire to escape are liable for the cost of suppressing the fire as well as any damage caused to others’ property.

Test